The Code of Criminal Procedure, Art 45.0511 (q) states "You may be able to require that this charge be dismissed by successfully completing a driving safety course or a motorcycle operator training course. You will lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court with notice of your request to take the course."
Driving Safety Course
- If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to request the Driving Safety Course option on or before your initial appearance date.
PLEASE NOTE: YOU MUST COMPLETE THE REQUEST FOR THE DRIVING SAFETY COURSE OPTION PRIOR TO TAKING THE COURSE.
- You must have and present a valid, non-commercial Texas driver's license or permit; or be a member, or the spouse or dependent child of a member, of the United States military forces serving on active duty.
- You must enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest).
- You must have been charged with an eligible offense as defined by Texas Transportation Code 45.0511.
- You must not have completed a Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Training Course within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense.
- You must provide evidence of financial responsibility (current vehicle liability insurance) at the time of the request.
- You must pay the court costs and administrative fee at the time of the request.
Requirements for Dismissal:
- You must submit an original court copy of a Driving Safety Course completion certificate from a course provider certified by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. The certificate must be signed, must have City of Victoria Municipal Court listed at the court, and must be submitted to the court on or before the 90th day indicated on your Driving Safety Course order.
- You must submit a certified (Type 3A) copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety. Your driving record must be submitted to the court on or before the 90th day indicated on your Driving Safety Course order.
- Speeding 25 mph over the limit or more.
- Speeding 95 mph or more.
- Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene.
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident.
- Passing a School Bus Loading or Unloading.
- Any offense committed in a construction zone with workers present.
- A serious traffic violation, which applies to commercial motor vehicle operators.
You must check the eligibility criteria above to see if you are qualified for Mandatory DSC. You must apply for Mandatory DSC on or before your appearance date in person at the City of Victoria Municipal Court, or by mail.
- Moving Violation: $129.00
- School Zone Moving Violation: $154.00
*Additional fee may apply. Please contact the City of Victoria Municipal Court for more information.
If mailed, request must be sent certified mail. (Art. 45.0511(b)(3), C.C.P.)
Please note: Juveniles are not able to set up driving safety course by mail. Juveniles must appear in open court with a parent or guardian.
Helpful Documents and Links:
- DSC Application
- DSC Affidavit
- Online Driver's Safety Course Options
- Driving Record Request Form
- Request Driving Record Online
NOTE: You do not have 90 days to take the course. You must complete the course and submit all required documents on or before the 90th day. Failure to comply with the requirements of your Driving Safety Course order will result in a Show Cause hearing. At the Show Cause hearing, the Judge may enter a final judgment and require that the fine and any additional costs required by law be paid in full. If you choose to waive the Driving Safety Course option and Show Cause hearing, you may pay the remaining balance due on or before your 90th day; which will result in a conviction.
E-FILING OPTION: The City of Victoria Municipal Court now offers an e-filing option for your Driving Safety Course completion certificate and certified driving record. This option allows you to submit your documents to the court electronically through the course provider rather than submitting paper documents. Currently, the e-filing option is only available through a few course providers. Please contact the City of Victoria Municipal Court office for more information.
107 W. Juan Linn Street
Victoria, Texas 77901